I don't understand the logic. by raistlin

raistlin
Well, I'm scandalized again.

I watched HMS Illustrious set sail yesterday to flex the British muscles in Gibraltar. Not a mariner myself, even I have to admit that she looks superb, right down to the integrated "ski-ramp" so vital for getting STOL aircraft off her decks. Then I remembered... we don't actually have any aircraft with which to populate "Lusty" capable of taking advantage of the ramp. All the Harriers are long since gone - their replacements? Well we can't actually decide upon an overall specification at the moment because it is difficult to decide which variant is the "most efficient" (cheapest).

This morning, I was informed of the latest (if not greatest) money-saving scheme for the MoD.

It seems that we are using altogether too many CR2025 batteries and their use is to be subject to moratorium, for want of a better word.

Now, as some of you know, I'm a lecturer at the Defence College and, as daily users of the FSAsT (Flight Simulation And Synthetic Trainers) computer suites that we bought, at great cost, to facilitate lectures, we use the supplied remote mouse to enable us to move freely around the lecture hall whilst still being able to control Powerpoint presentations. The remote mouse in question, was supplied as part of the FSasT deal as a single item per suite and they use CR2025 batteries, requiring a battery change once every 8 months or so, even at the rate we use them.

This point was brought to the attention of those with the power to implement such decisions and they agreed that we had a valid point. However, the numbskull who originally came up with the idea of curtailing the use of CR2025 batteries has had his bonus for a good money-saving idea so there will be no reversal of policy regarding the batteries.