Hi-Line stuck in a field by JakeWilson

JakeWilson
Having been kindly provided a radio tuner by Corin, we set up and ran out today with the hi-line for the first time.

Running the standard set up with a mk3 drive, the car is allegedly stuck in a field outside Lincoln that we don't live near, nor have driven past. The sat nav drive operates fine and powers down.

As I'm new to these systems I don't know what else to do - also, has anyone got a PDF manual for it?

Cheers,

Jake

Posted 02 Jul 2011, 15:34 #1 

JohnDotCom
One of the most common failures is the Aerial for the Sat Nav, Saloon or Tourer?
Does it show any satellites as being received?

There is also the onboard diagnostics that may help. (Just need to find and dig out the how to now)
John

"My lovely car now sold onto a very happy new owner.
I still love this marque and I will still be around, preferred selling to breaking, as a great runner and performer"

Posted 02 Jul 2011, 15:57 #2 

JakeWilson
Cheers John,

It's a saloon, how do I tell if it it's showing any Sat Nav's as being recieved?

Also, I've read posts about people updating the drives? How would I go about this as I am not sure the drive we're running with has ever been updated.

Thank you once again,

Jake

Posted 02 Jul 2011, 16:43 #3 

Duncan
The drive will work fine without being updated. You can get newer map discs, but lets get it working first.

The most likely problem is as John said, an antenna problem. There is a way of seeing how many sattelites are being received, when John posts the howto you should be able to check.

Posted 02 Jul 2011, 17:08 #4 

JakeWilson
Thanks both, looking forward to trying the diag and see what news there is there.

Posted 02 Jul 2011, 18:42 #5 

JohnDotCom
The GPS Antenna is under the rear parcel shelf on a Saloon (On the roof in the shape of a shark fin aerial for the Tourer)
always check nothing on back shelf blocking signal all sorts of things can from soft toys upward.