A question for the heating engineers amongst us by raistlin (Page 1 of 2)

raistlin
Any ideas please?

I switched on the central heating for the first time in months yesterday, to find that only the bathroom and hall radiators got hot.

Water heating part of the system works fine.

I switched off the central heating but this morning, while the water heater part was running, the bathroom radiator started getting warm with the central heating switched off.

Not being a plumber, I'm confused :lol:

Anybody know what's happening please?
Paul

Cogito ergo sum... maybe?

Click the image to go to Nano-Meet Website

Posted 24 Sep 2012, 10:42 #1 

Mick
(Site Admin)
Not any kind of expert but I would at least bleed rads as a first option.

Posted 24 Sep 2012, 10:45 #2 

Jumper
During a period of inactivity air can be drawn into c/h system, especially if the w/h part of it is operational. This also happens even when c/h is in full use. The inducted air rises to highest points (tops of rads) and produces an air lock which restricts and eventually totally blocks water flow because it can't go anywhere (the air is at the top of the rad and the in/out ports are at the bottom). When testing operational condition of rads, feel the lower part of them rather than just the top for warmth. With the boiler turned on, the programmer in the 'on' mode and within the programmed time limits, and the room thermostat on 'full' or max temp, bleed the rads starting with the furthest from the boiler ie last in the run. When the key is turned (anti-clockwise), top of the rad in the side where the square valve can be seen, there will be the hiss of air escaping. Continue until spluttering (a cloth on the floor around the valve is a good thing) and then close off. Do not turn too tight, the valve seat won't take too much welly. When all the rads are done, some may not need bleeding, it is safe to take the football-buttoned cardi off.

Posted 24 Sep 2012, 11:13 #3 

Dave Goody