Harrier retirement by Bermudan 75 (Page 1 of 2)

Bermudan 75
Today sees the premature retirement from RAF/RN service of the Harrier.

At 1300 hrs 16 aircraft will make a one hour flight, from RAF Cottesmore to commemorate its service to the country.

Considering that the Harrier and Sea Harrier were instrumental in the liberation of the Falkland Islands in 1982, would it not be a fitting gesture to retain a couple of RAF Harriers and RN Sea Harriers. These aircraft could join the RAF Memorial Flight and the RN Historic Flight as a tribute to those personnel killed and wounded in action in that summer of 1982.

After all the Hurricane and Spitfire saved this country from a possible invasion in 1940, and in 1982 the Harrier helped to liberate the only British territory that has been invaded since WW2.

Posted 15 Dec 2010, 10:18 #1 

Last edited by Bermudan 75 on 15 Dec 2010, 10:46, edited 1 time in total.

Mick
(Site Admin)
I'm no expert but I consider the retiring of these aircraft to be very short sighted.
I agree at least one should be kept in service for demonstrations.

Posted 15 Dec 2010, 10:43 #2 

raistlin
Mick wrote:I'm no expert but I consider the retiring of these aircraft to be very short sighted.

And the Nimrod. :evil:
Paul

Cogito ergo sum... maybe?

Click the image to go to Nano-Meet Website

Posted 15 Dec 2010, 10:52 #3 

Mick
(Site Admin)
raistlin wrote:
Mick wrote:I'm no expert but I consider the retiring of these aircraft to be very short sighted.

Foolhardy in the extreme IMNSHO

Posted 15 Dec 2010, 11:02 #4 

Zeb
I have a great affection for the Harrier and believe it remains an incredibly robust and versatile piece of kit.....one that we really should not be losing.... :(

Posted 15 Dec 2010, 11:07 #5 

Dave Goody
Mick wrote:
raistlin wrote:

Not to mention the Ark Royal? :shock:

Posted 15 Dec 2010, 11:20 #6 

MrB