Engine Not Cranking-Over by PJDavis

PJDavis
Hello all, I'm a Newbie! I have a Rover 75 1.8 Petrol '05 model. Initially the drivers side door failed to open using the central locking system, and I had to revert to using the key to gain access. Since then about two weeks ago, the car suddenly stopped cranking the engine, whilst cold or hot. (A new battery was put in last November and the battery is still in top condition.) So, three times since then the car has failed to start. I get into the car and put the key in the ignition as usual, all the ignition lights appear, all the electrics work ok, but when I go for the 'cranking' position I get nothing! I replaced the batteries inside the key I mainly use, and tested the batteries in the spare key. I had the problem on Thursday last week, and I changed over to the spare key, I locked and unlocked the car a couple of times whilst sitting inside the car, and trying to turn the engine with the spare key, this finally got a result, and the car started. It was ok until yesterday, and now I can't get it started at all. It's a great car, and I just love the comfort, but this is being a pain.
I hope someone has an idea.
Regards
Peter

Posted 01 May 2013, 07:38 #1 

bopperbrian
Without actually watching and listening to what is going on I can only suggest these problem solvers.