Used Laptop Advice by zojosc

zojosc
I'm looking to purchase a used laptop as a second to my desk computer so that I can be more mobile with it. I don't want anything for gaming but want something that is pretty quick that I can watch DVD's and perhaps hook up to the tv for iplayer etc. I think windows XP would be my prefered running gear. I have very little knowledge about laptops so I would be grateful of any advice as to ones to look for or avoid etc. I guess my highest budget would be about £180.
Cheers guys
"Keep Smilin'"
Andy

Posted 22 Mar 2013, 12:47 #1 

ceedy
We have a fairly old ..Fuji Amilo , and it pretty good/fast for most things ..

Just using it as an example of a spec .. its only got a 1.6 Dual core cpu /2gb ram.. but I popped in a 60gb SSD and it really does fly..

So don't reckon you would need much more ??? , I personally don't see the need for vast HD's on laptops, as keeping too much important stuff on a lappy is too risky .. just use an external Drive for the " never to loose stuff" ..
have fun ...

Chris
Got one for Me , Then one for her, and now a big one for me again, All BLOO! Well saves on the touch up paint, Now Number one son's Spoilt it all by getting a Firefrost 1.8T

Posted 24 Mar 2013, 10:28 #2 

Duncan
I recently bought an HP NC6320 on recommendation from someone who has one. Under £100 and runs XP very nicely.

The one I got looked as though it were new, apart from a scratch on the lid, so well chuffed.