Power steering failure by RonDogg007

RonDogg007
Hi folks,just wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of a power steering repair PDF.I've just bought a ZT 160+ and it has no power steering so I'd like to try see what's the fault or the likely suspects on these models and how to go about repairing the fault as cheaply as possible.

Sent a lilttle wiser than I was yesterday!!!!

Posted 12 Jul 2013, 17:41 #1 

Mick
(Site Admin)
Evening.
We don't have a Know How PDF for the power steering pump replacement but, this drawing from Xpart on Rimmers site should be helpful.
http://www.rimmerbros.co.uk/Item--i-GRID002024
Usually it will be pump failure is the culprit. Please wait for some more expert advice, mine is strictly amateur.

Posted 12 Jul 2013, 18:00 #2 

RonDogg007
Thks Mick. I'm new to this model of car and was wondering if this was an easy enuff repair to do myself.

Sent a lilttle wiser than I was yesterday!!!!

Posted 12 Jul 2013, 18:13 #3 

JohnDotCom
I have a power steering pump for a 2.0 Diesel engine, but think they are different?
John

"My lovely car now sold onto a very happy new owner.
I still love this marque and I will still be around, preferred selling to breaking, as a great runner and performer"

Posted 12 Jul 2013, 19:26 #4 

Duncan
Not a common failure as far as I know, that's why we might struggle to tell you where to look.

I'd start with the basics: is there any fluid in it? If not, the most likely is a leak in the cooler up front. After that it's rack or pump. Pump is easier of course.

Posted 13 Jul 2013, 14:20 #5 

RonDogg007
Duncan wrote:Not a common failure as far as I know, that's why we might struggle to tell you where to look.

I'd start with the basics: is there any fluid in it? If not, the most likely is a leak in the cooler up front. After that it's rack or pump. Pump is easier of course.