diesel dies out @ 3000rpm by johnwh74

johnwh74
Well i sort out one problem and something else just goes wrong. This time it gets fixed on the cheap ( when i find out what the problem is) and then its going. Had enough of the ****** thing.

2002 rover 75 2.0 diesel. Drive it smoothly and its fine until you get to 3000rpm and then it just dies, runs ok up to that point. starts first turn of the key, no warning lights, no smoke. I am thinking camshaft sensor or crank shaft sensor but i am a novice. :gmc:

any ideas please guys??

thanks John
Nottingham Forest Forever

Posted 27 Aug 2010, 23:48 #1 

Duncan
I'd suggest getting a T4 (Testbook version 4.Computer Diagnostic System) / Testbook on it.

If the system thinks there's a problem, in can limit the revs to 3000 RPM. Another member had a similar issue but don't know if it got sorted.

Posted 28 Aug 2010, 08:48 #2 

Russ
(Trader)
Sounds like a fuel system low pressure problem, the ecu will limit the revs when it hasn't enough fuel pressure.

Failing lift pumps, injector leakback, faulty or bad connection to fuel presssure sensor and blocked filters can all be possibles.

Russ
Full T4 diagnostics, options enabled and disabled p.m for details

Posted 28 Aug 2010, 10:03 #3 

johnwh74
A trip to Andy Willi who plugged me in and had a look. Turns out to be the mass air flow sensor had decided to plug itself back in for some reason. I know it has been unplugged ever since i have had the car, Andy plugged it in when i was having injector problems and it just took all the power away so we unplugged it again.
sure start diesel plugged it in when they did my injector and took it off again when i told them. but instead of totally unplugging it they just unclipped it leaving it sat on top. With the engine vibrating, it has worked itself down and re plugged itself in

So again, a huge thank you to Andy Willi of A & L automotive Doncaster for sorting that out and putting a smile back on my face. :thumbsup:
Still want a ZT though